Even God gets termites

First Presbyterian Church Downtown San Diego

First Presbyterian Church Downtown San Diego

So I am driving to physical therapy today, six months after surgery still at it, and I cracked up seeing this huge old church completely tented for termite extermination. What a sight. I couldn’t help myself and stoped to snap a photo. Passers by probably thought I was a tourist.

I particularly liked that they had tied the tents around the concrete crosses on the tops of the gables. Wouldn’t want to cover those up and leave anyone wondering what the building was underneath now would we.

Humor aside, a church under a termite tent reminds me that nothing in this world is exempt from the cycle that is our universe. All things come into being, go through being and go out of being. There is and always will be birth, growth, service and decline. It reminds me not to fight the cycle but to go with the flow and make the most out of each and every stage. We might be able to slow down the cycle through proper care, but the inevitable will one day come.

That tent reminds me to live the life I have been given. It reminds me of my blessings no matter what stage I am experiencing in the cycle that is my life.

I wonder if termites go to heaven?

8 thoughts on “Even God gets termites

Leave a Reply

