Finding words

Is it that I don’t have anything to say? No I really don’t think it is that.

Is it that I am too rushed and don’t set aside time? Very possibly.

Could it possible be finding the words to express myself? Most likely.

I have a lot to say. By saying it through the written word I go deeper. When writing I learn. Expressing myself through writing helps me explore me.

Why oh why don’t I stop more often and write? Why don’t I discipline myself? Is it possible to make it a habit?

Since starting Fearsome Beard I have learned more about myself as well as grown in ways I never expected, it was all through writing. I had never written before in my life. I have never journaled, kept a diary, written prose nor hardly ever even written a letter. I recorded nothing.

Posting pictures of a beard seems like a daily place holder. I’m not saying that posting those beards isn’t. However I do have to find them and I do usually post one that reflects a thought or mood or at least a fondness I am feeling. I also caption them ever so slightly with a word or two. It’s a good daily habit as it brings me here and it does take effort. Effort no matter how minimal.

Writing takes a bit more effort and often requires a little inspiration. I have found that the more I do it, the easier it is. Finding words is an art that comes easier and easier with practice and habit.

I guess my contemplation on this cool San Diego evening is a thoughtful challenge to myself, to express myself through written word more often. I do not want to get so caught up in the whirlwind of my daily life that I forget me.

I love blogging.

6 thoughts on “Finding words

  1. An old, very old joke. A guy walked up to a man carrying a violin case in Manhattan and asked, how do you get to Carnegie Hall, the musician responded, “Practice, Practice, Practice!” Writing is the same way, the more you do, the easier it is, dare I say the better it is. Finding inspiration, something to write about develops your skills of observation and interpretation; daily we are surrounded by thousands of things that make our brains go “Huh?” We notice those moments, think about them, remember them, develop them as text. Write when you find inspiration.

  2. I’m with JP on this one too. Sometimes you gotta let it out whether it’s good or bad. I’m finding through my latest entries I’m unhappy at this time, but the optimist in me knows better times are ahead.

  3. Sufficient time and concentration are my nemesis. In reality I have as much time as everyone else in the world, 24 hours each day. But I can be lazy and plop down on the sofa and watch TV rather than doing something else. But I try not to beat myself up over it. After all, my blog is for me, however I choose to make it. I just hope others enjoy it too along the way.

Leave a Reply

