An Angel

There is no mistake that Dolly is one of my many angels.

I’ve known this since that time I first ever remember hearing her voice come from the lone single rear speaker of that AM radio in the back of my mother’s white 1967 Buick as dad drove us through darkness along the back roads of Tennessee. That night we were en-route to visit mom’s family out in cotton country along the mighty Mississippi.

Dolly was singing her ‘Jolene’ that long dark night. I can remember the warmth, care and love in her voice as if it were yesterday. I’ve loved her ever since. I know to my core she loves me too. That’s just Dolly. She is pure love.

Dolly Parton, Peace Train.

5 thoughts on “An Angel

Leave a Reply

