Look for good

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” To this day, especially in times of disaster, I remember my mother’s words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers – so many caring people in this world.”
– Fred Rogers

Never ever loose sight that there is actually good in the world around us.

I found the above quote today in an e mail from one of our favorite charities.

Angels of Assisi is an animal rescue organization in Roanoke Virginia. Roanoke is where I grew up and where Fearsome first made an appearance on the lower portion of my face back around 1980.

Angels of Assisi just rescued 33 dogs from deplorable conditions in nearby West Virginia. All the dogs are in such bad health they don’t even have fur. They are already recovering quickly with love, care and proper food. On two different occasions of recent, the San Diego Humane society has rescued more than 70 dogs on each case from overcrowded unsanitary conditions in two different area homes. Finding pets in such conditions often leaves one wondering why and feeling discouraged that such situations occur.

As an animal lover and dog owner these stories tear me up. In every horrible situation there is good, we must look for it. The helpers, their care, their love, their hope and their dedication. Yes in life there is good. May I always look for it.

 

3 thoughts on “Look for good

Leave a Reply

