Homesick

I love travel.

I love my home.

I met a dear old friend at The Gateway theatre in Ft. Lauderdale to see a certain musical that takes place in a certain SoCal location.

Unfortunately the opening scene is yet to be found in the clips. Just the song will have to do. And it does fine. From the moment this song started until the very end of the credits a warm feeling filled my heart as Fearsome absorbed the joyful tears and covered the smile beaneath his oversized mustache.

This movie is beautiful. This movie is Los Angeles. This movie helped me to realize that Southern California is my beloved home. I may not have been born here, but this is home. Seeing this flick while sitting in a comfortable and familiar theatre in my home away from home only cemented that I am a Californian to the bone.

We cried, we laughed, we smiled, we loved, we dreamed, we hoped, we accepted, we enjoyed.

We reccomend.

The movie made me us homesick. Now we are home. We are home in San Diego just south of LA. A place who just lost their football team to LA, but we don’t care. Our home is Southern California. Realizing we love San Diego so much makes us realize we love Los Angeles as well. We love where we live. Homesick is actually good. A movie that can evoke such deep intimate feelings is good.

I love to travel. I love to come home.

I am home.

Another day of sun. Just dream.

10 thoughts on “Homesick

  1. It pleases me no end that this film gets your endorsement, F.B. It’s a very long time since we had such an assured spirit-lifter. (If anyone says that they didn’t like it I’d be asking what’s wrong with them!)

  2. My home and the area I live is truly my Beekman Place. I miss it so when I’m away. On my numerous trip to California, I have to be honest, I didn’t care for the feel of LA or the Hollywood area. Have only been to SoCal once. I seem to be a Northern Cal person. I adore San Fran. Could easily live there , or Sausalito..

  3. Pingback: When you find yourself stuck in traffic… | Fearsome Beard

Leave a Reply

