Fearsome’s travel updates

We arrived safely in Ft Lauderdale only 20 hours later than the originally scheduled arrival time. Thanks to a helpful club concierge we were rescheduled on the easiest most comfortable route to our final destination. Fearsome has taught me that a smile, patience plus a few kind words go a long way with those who work in customer service. His wisdom worked to our favor.

After waiting out our delay in snowy Washington DC due to the line for de icing we were finally airborne. Shortly into the flight or Captian let us know that due to storms aloft we were re-routing but would make it to Ft. Lauderdale. He warned us if a bumpy flight ahead and that services may be delayed as from time to time the flight attendants would have to sit down and strap themselves in. Yeah! A thrill ride!

Actually the experience aloft turned out to be fairly smooth and the re-route took us out to sea. When landing in Ft Lauderdale on most often arrives over the Everglades but due to storms we descended to our destination via a route over the Bahamas. As the Captian put it we were going to just “slip in between storm fronts” so we could land safely.

Our sneaky route between storms allowed some incredible vistas from my window seat the United Club concierge snagged for me:

One of the Bahamas below.

One of the Bahamas below.

Storms in the distance.

Storms in the distance.

Stunning azul of the shallow Bahamas waters.

Stunning azul of the shallow Bahamas waters.

Storms head over Ft Lauderdale Beach during approach.

Storms head over Ft Lauderdale Beach during approach.

What we found when we got off the flight in Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood International was a freakin’ mess. Due to all flights being cancelled the day before and the one whole terminal being closed as it was a crime scene, left our arrival terminal looking like something out of Night of The Living Dead. As we deplaned we entered a terminal packed to the point there wasn’t even a place for people to sit on the floor and the stranded passengers looked at us almost as if they were hungry enough to eat us. They wanted on to our aircraft and NOW!

The there was baggage claim. Oh shit!

Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood International United Baggage Claim 1/7/2017

Ft Lauderdale/Hollywood International United Baggage Claim 1/7/2017

Apparently in the evacuation of the airport during the previous days shootings everyone was told to leave their bags and run. These were just the yet to be claimed bags from arriving passengers. Departing passenger bags were available for claim and re-checking to destinations on one’s newly scheduled flight upstairs. The nightmare the day after a nightmare.

My bag? After a reschedule and a night left outside on the tarmac at Dulles International it arrived! Still frozen, but here with me! Whew.

I made my way to Dollar Rent A Car and was greeted with no line in which to wait but a friendly face who discounted my rental and upgraded me to a full size car “due to the travel interruptions” I had endured. I was off to my hotel and welcomed not only by a familiar and friendly face at the front desk but also by my comfortable and familiar room.

Room 219, Fearsome's favorite room.

Room 219, Fearsome’s favorite room.

 

8 thoughts on “Fearsome’s travel updates

  1. Glad you arrived safely – a bit of adventure for the book when it comes out???? And thank you for that comment about being polite and understanding with customer service people. I worked at an airport for more years than I care to recount. Being Canada we had something called winter and delays/cancellations etc were frequent. I was subject to abuse of all sorts and threats of violence one more than one occasion. Those people got looked after – but it was the polite, understanding customers who I always went that extra mile for – and remembered when they travelled the next time. I try to do the same when I’m the customer. It pays.

    • Winter? What is this of which you speak? I think I’ve read of it….Grin…
      I wrote that as I witnessed the very abuse you speak of at the very counter where I was standing. There is no need to abuse people who are actually there to help. Ever.

  2. Glad to hear you’re safe and sound. I’m not sure what day you’re coming back to San Diego, but I hope you have an umbrella. We’ve been getting rain like every other day lately.

  3. It is great to hear you arrived safe and sound. What a mess. Pretty flight of the Islands, I miss living that far south (on this cold DC day.) I was on a plane in Charlotte one morning that backed into another plane. I stood in line for 30 minutes listening to person after person abusing the airlines staff, when it was my turn I smiled and said, “I know it isn’t your fault, and you don’t have a magic fix-it wand, what can you do to get me home today.” I made it home that day.

Leave a Reply

