Getting there.

I’ve found that I do better when I have a set of goals. Not resolutions but goals.

I start with a desire. If the desire resonates with me and I decide I would like to make it a reality, I write it down. Once written down it becomes a goal. I compile my goals into a list. I post the list where I see it daily. I often cut pictures out of a magazine that resemble the goals and make a collage that is often called a vision board. I place my vision board where I see it daily as well.

While I have been amazed at how writing goals down helps me achieve, the power of visualization through the vision board is even more amazing. More than once I have looked back at my vision board after a period of time and discovered that I had not only achieved many of the goals represented there, but all of them without even realizing it.

I have found that the key for me is in the decision to. In deciding to, I must become willing to act. Often that act requires a change in my daily living. Say for instance if I decide I want to learn to swim and make that a goal but my gym doesn’t have a pool nor swim classes, I need to change my gym membership to one that has a pool and I must sign up for the classes. So part of my decision to must also be a willingness to change. A vision board helps subtly remind me of what I’m moving toward.

Today is the day I set my goals. Today the holidays are over. Today I start anew. Today I decide what changes I want. Today I act. Today I get to work.

img_2274

7 thoughts on “Getting there.

  1. My goal is also to find a new job, but my other one (which is just as important to me) is to get a handle on my health. I just wrote a blog post about it this morning! I love writing things down, planning and making goals, with ink on paper. Great minds think alike, eh? 🙂

    Happy New Year! And may all your dreams come true!

  2. I find that I arrive at the place that I plan to go, if I don’t plan, I end up in the same place. I read an interesting book recently that pointed out that setting achievable goals is important, people with great accomplishments consider themselves failures if they set unrealistic goals. (the book is the Subtle Art of Not Giving a #uck.)

  3. This is a good reminder. I find that writing down goals is helpful to me, too. I’ve not gone so far as to create a vision board, but perhaps I should. I wish you much success, accomplishment, and happiness in the new year!

  4. I need to write down a list of goals for 2017 soon. I’ll probably do it this weekend once the Raiders season is over.

    Yeah, I said that. It’s not looking good when the third string QB may start their first playoff game in 14 years.

Leave a Reply

