Reflections on 5 years

“Sobriety”

Interesting word. Clearheaded state of being. Has many interpretations. Isn’t for everyone. Is wonderful for me.

My 5 year token

My 5 year token

My sobriety date is 7 November 2011. That was my first day without drugs or alcohol.

I haven’t used recreational substances since that date. I’m one of those who cannot use any. I can’t stop once I start. I tried moderation. I tried different substance. I tried different drinks. I tried controlling. I tried limiting. I tried period. I’d try then I couldn’t stop until I was sick, passed out, blacked out, injured, embarrassed, in trouble, lost, confused, missed work, lapsed responsibility …I couldn’t stop. I’d lost me.

Not everyone is like me. I found others like me that were not drinking. They weren’t drugging either. Things were working for them. I decided to try what they were doing. It worked for me. Not drinking worked for me. Alcohol was my mind altering drug of choice, the others were auxiliary enhancements. I don’t need them and I not longer drink.

There are many ways for people to live their lives. I’ve found a way that works for me. I celebrate the anniversary of making that discovery today. I celebrate five years of living one day at a time unaltered and sober. I like being this way. I actually enjoy hanging with my friends who do drink and those who don’t. I keep booze in my house for those who do drink and they keep Juice and club soda in their house for me.

I live life in a world of diversity. This beautiful life in this beautiful world. I love my life.

17 thoughts on “Reflections on 5 years

  1. Congratulations. I’m happy you found sobriety and all the positive perks that come with it. Wishing you continued confidence, strength and clearheaded-ness.

    Hugs.

  2. Congratulations! This is a wonderful accomplishment! Someone *very* close to me is a friend of Bill W., I’ve seen first hand the struggles and challenges of remaining sober, and also the joy of success. Congratulations again!

  3. Please keep doing, what is good for you, we love you this way. It has worked for my hubby for about 30 years now. Like you, he is more fun to be around than he ever was before.

  4. A belated ‘pat on the back’, F.B. (or anywhere else you may want it). A true reason to feel proud of yourself. Well done, Sir!

Leave a Reply

