Movie Beard

The phrase “Friendship is Magic” is usually associated with this show:

My Little Pony, which is one of Fearsome’s favorites. He qualifies as a “Brony” in my book. Although I have to admit I rather enjoy the cartoon myself.

I am on the east coast visiting family at the moment, as is evident by yesterday’s Beard of the Day featuring my nephew, his son and Fearsome Himself. Being on the east coast means I’ve spent some time aboard yet another United Airlines 737-900. Flying means movie time.

My physical therapist, who has been taking great care of the shoulder, recommended a couple movies that were her all time favorites. She seems to be a spirit that is rather kindred to my own, so I took her up on her recommendation. On this flight out I chose to watch this one:

Fearsome and I agree that there is one word that sums up our feelings about this film. That word is “Beautiful”.

It is one of those late 1980s flicks that we somehow had missed. We are indebted to the physical therapist for her recommendation, kindred spirit she is. This film grabbed us, held us and enriched us.

What the hell does My Little Pony have to do with Bagdad Cafe?

There is a common message. Friendship truly is magic. All we need to do is be open to friendship, cherish friendship and cherish each other. We all have common threads. We simply must just allow ourselves to show the least amount of vulnerability and magic happens.

We give this film two mustache tips curled up!

3 thoughts on “Movie Beard

  1. I first saw ‘Bagdad Cafe’ in an Amsterdam cinema and liked it so much that I bought the video, which I still have. (Yes, also still have a video player). Its high-level ‘quirkiness’ – thank you, Debra, above, it’s the perfect word – doesn’t really come over in this trailer. With its haunting ‘wailing’ song on the soundtrack it’s a powerfully evocative film.
    Marianne Sagebrecht became, briefly, quite a big star in Europe because of this. Her follow-up film, ‘Rosalie Goes Shopping’ was a minor cult hit over here, but then her film career faded, alas. (She’s still with us.)
    Must be a over twenty years since I last watched ‘Bagdad’. High time for another viewing, methinks. Thanks for the ‘push’.

Leave a Reply

