Movie Beard

Ethan & Joel Coen’s Blood Simple.

This Blogger as well as this one both suggested that if I was a Coen Brother’s movie fan, this movie was a must.

It hasn’t been an easy movie to find. It wasn’t on iTunes, then it was (very briefly), then it wasn’t. Same with Amazon. If one could find one, DVD copies were selling for $50.00. This week it showed up on iTunes again. It’s a new 2016 digital remaster. The remaster was overseen by Joel & Ethan Coen. Being that it was their very first film and a very low budget 35mm from 1985, although I never saw the original one, the remaster was probably a good thing.

As far as the movie? One word, Brilliant.

I’ve been a Coen Brothers fan for many many years yet had never seen their original film. I highly recommend it. It is a classic suspense thriller. It’s dark and perfect for the upcoming Halloween Season.

Fearsome? I found him hiding behind me on the couch peeking out over my shoulder to watch. He loved it.

 

2 thoughts on “Movie Beard

  1. It’s a really good one – and was just the first in a series of marvellous films that took them through the 80s and 90s up to and including ‘The Big Lebowski’ (1998). Then, in my opinion, they lost their near-perfect magic touch. However, all their films even now have at least flashes of their former high-level entertainment standard. I’d still go out of my way to see any new Coen Bros film.

Leave a Reply

