Flawed

I am human. I am not perfect. I will never be perfect. I do not want to be perfect.

I, however, do want to be better. I am capable of improvement. I will do better.

These are choices. I choose to be honest with myself and those around me that I am not, nor will ever be, perfect. I choose to choose improvement. I choose to work toward betterment.

I have to accept that others are not perfect. I have to accept that others do not realize they are not perfect or that others may not choose to better themselves. I must realize that we are all human and thus flawed.

Where is this coming from? What am I actually contemplating here?

I am resolving an internal conflict about news I just encountered on this here internet thingy. It’s news about another of those accused and convicted child molesters. This one is not from Penn State but from television advertising of Subway sandwiches. Like my post about Jerry Sandusky, I was not there to actually witness Jared Fogle’s crimes and if his convictions are overturned I will post a retraction but since he is currently a convicted felon by the courts I will write a post about his actions.

Unlike Mr. Sandusky, Mr. Fogle’s is not appealing his conviction but allegedly defending himself in a civil lawsuit brought about by a victim seeking damages. I am actually relieved he isn’t appealing a conviction but am disturbed by the choice of defense in the civil suit. Choosing to blame the victims parents he alleges didn’t give the victim a proper home life thus leaving her wounded and available for his abuse? This somehow absolves him of monetary damage?

I am not familiar with the home life or the parents of the victim. I do not know the victim nor Mr. Fogle. He still abused her, she did not abuse him.

My old wounds of childhood abuse will always be with me. I realize that news like this will always lead me to revisit this part of my past in some way or another. I have to be grateful that I make better choices. I choose to take responsibility for my actions. In my quest  for betterment of myself I must strive to not blame others for what was ultimately my decision and my action, even if others were less than perfect.

 

3 thoughts on “Flawed

  1. I have not read the new reports, but the defense (it sounds like a counterclaim in a civil suit, the goal of that is to reduce the amount he might pay in damages), is kind of like the saying, she was dressed pretty – what did she expect? That defense does not fly.

Leave a Reply

