Small world, big planet

Or is it a big world, small planet?

I do love travel and have been many places. I have many more to see. Of recent my travels are all domestic to areas I frequent. That’s ok, more exotic places will come later.

Last November I wrote about my observations as people boarded the plane walking past my seat. That post turned into two. I still find it quite interesting the interactions, travels and movement of our species. I also find intriguing the exchange of information, possesions and currency.

I’m sorry to inform those who want to close borders, stay small, prevent movement and exchange. I’m sorry to give you the news that you fear. This is humanity. We are one. We move, share, give, enrich, enlighten and experience each other as one world. We have for centuries, we do today and we will continue. Humanity.

Today I sit by a pool in Ft. Lauderdale with mates from Atlanta, Detriot, Calgary, Seattle, Vancouver, Germany and Mexico. Laughter permeates the air. Strangers and friends. Familiar and foreign.

Today my tickets sold, Major Legue Baseball All Star Game tickets.

image

Being a Padres Season ticket holder allowed me to obtain these. My seat mate Greg and I planned to actually attend but life happens. He has parental responsibilities, I have shoulder surgery. We listed them on Stub-Hub and while I sat by the pool the tickets sold. They sold to someone in Quebec. Yes while relaxing with new international friends by a pool in South Florida my All Star tickets in San Diego sold via the Internet to a buyer in Canada.

Build bridges, not walls.

…..oh don’t let me forget….Happy Canada Day!

6 thoughts on “Small world, big planet

  1. I hope the shoulder goes well, I understand the first week after is the most challenging.

    More people should travel, should get out of their comfort zone.

  2. Alas, the British (well some of them) and Mr. Trump can not crawl into a hole and keep away the other anymore. The world is too small now. We must band together.

Leave a Reply

