Movie Beard

I love my iPad Pro.

I use it for all my blogging, my e mail, my business and my entertainment. It’s a constant companion. I load up on movie rentals, mostly the 99 cent iTunes specials. I’ve caught up on some good flicks thanks to the iTunes bargains and cross country flights.

Flying here to my mother’s house last week the personal in flight entertainment was the film Lawless.

Lawless is set in the early 1930s right here were I grew up. Well if you want to get technical one county to the south of where I grew up, Franklin County Virginia. I grew up with the stories of Franklin County. It had the history of being the wettest county during prohibition. Meaning that it produced the most bootleg whisky of anywhere period.

Growing up well after the prohibition era, Franklin County was still known for its moonshine production. Illegal stills were still being raided and destroyed even as I was in high school. I sampled my first moonshine from a mason jar in high school, it was from Franklin. One certain Blogger, I’m almost sure, can verify this as true. He grew up the same time I did right here in the region from which I speak and where I sit at this moment.

The history of Franklin County moonshine is so entrenched in the area that today there are now legal distilleries producing and selling it. I’m sure there are still some bootleggers lost in those hills. These Franklin County hillbillies don’t let go of no family traditions easily.

Although not my usual preference  for entertainment due to the violence in the preview, Lawless attracted me for several reasons. It is set in the area from which I and my father were raised. It is set in the era that my father was born. It would give me history and perspective. I think Tom Hardy is attractive. It was a 99 cent special on iTunes. It had some good reviews and looked like it could be a pretty good flick.

It’s a good film. I recommend it.

This here is a story ’bout a moonshine cookin’ family. Them there Bondurant boys. Now they didn’t mean to become no outlaws. Theys were jus tryin’ to make a livin, but outlaws they became. Some called them indestructible, well hell maybe even immortal.

The story is one of endurance and also of change. Change for the bad and for the good.

Fearsome? Oh hell he loved the flick.

 

4 thoughts on “Movie Beard

  1. I has moonshine for the first time when I was nineteen. I was visiting my sister in Indiana. Worst hangover ever!

  2. This 2012 film came out before I started doing individual reviews, but I did see it and quite liked it. (Note the ‘quite’). If I were to watch it again It would be of especial interest in my now being aware of your own personal connection with the locations. Tom Hardy is always good – and most of us had never even heard of him until a very few years ago. And with Guy Pearce also…… ’nuff said!

Leave a Reply

