Releasing the treasures

I previously contemplated the disposal of my late fathers belongings HERE.

I just revisited that post as I know it was cleansing for me to write it. I’m really digging this here blog thingy at this moment for those words, words of my own expression, inspire me to get up with a spark on the morning. A spark to get moving and get this show on the road.

I’m in Virginia with Mom at the moment and that Big Yard Sale I mention in that previous post is this Saturday. I spent most of today moving things to the carport so tomorrow I can sort, price and set up. We really are doing it, selling Dad’s stuff.

That post reminded me the importance of setting free his treasures. He isn’t here in the physical form any longer. I believe releasing his belongings to others who may use or treasure them further releases his spirit.

My father’s favorite movie was Pay it Forward starring Kevin Spacey & Helen Hunt.

May I remember to bless each treasure as it leaves on its new journey this weekend. May I take every opportunity to pay it forward when I can.

Today I also put the car to the curb. The last of his cars. A car he treasured which was once my own. It was my very first car, we bought it when I was but 14. I no longer have an attachment for it as I sold it back to him in 2003 after it had started gathering more dust than miles just sitting in my San Diego garage. Don’t get me wrong, I have great memories in the car, but they are memories as the car is no longer mine. The for sale sign went in the window and several people have already inquired.

1966 Ford Mustang Convertible

1966 Ford Mustang Convertible

I also found these today…

Note the date. Elvis died just a few weeks before and these were never used. Note the price...those were the days huh?

Note the date. Elvis died just a week before and these were never used. Note the price…those were the days huh?

I think the tickets just might stay in a family scrapbook.

9 thoughts on “Releasing the treasures

  1. I am not a saver of things, but I might have to keep that car and the tickets would have to be displayed in some way.
    That said, there is a weight lifted when things are “set free.”

  2. The Elvis tickets have some value, I remember where I was when I heard he was dead, working on the farm in Michigan. When I took the job in DC, I didn’t move most of the stuff from the house in Lexington, 7 years later I am free from the emotional attachment to most of it.

  3. I love the notion of saying a blessing as material things are given away, as they lose their memories in the hands of a new person, but the blessing carries on the soul.

  4. None of this is easy, but it sounds like you’re handling it with grace.
    Check out the book, The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up.

Leave a Reply

