Don’t let hope become a memory

I feel like we’ve been posting more music than prose. I know that if I’m feeling that way that most likely that is the truth. However music is what is moving me right now and apparently Fearsome as well.

The other day when we posted about Paul Simon’s latest, called Wristband, we stumbled upon and interview where he was asked about a certain remake of his classic Sound of Silence by Disturbed. I wasn’t familiar with Disturbed. Even though I have never ever cared for Sound of Silence, for some unknown reason I was persuaded by Paul’s positive remarks about this cover to pop over to YouTube for a gander.

I was moved. I was also surprised as since I was a child I really disliked Sound of Silence.  I was so moved that this video and the music hasn’t left my head.

As YouTube does, other videos by Disturbed were recommended. I’m really starting to like these guys.

The words for the title of this post come from their song Light. The video is graphic. The lyrics and music are driving and positive. Definately words to contemplate.

I’ve been reminiscing as I am about to travel back east to help my mother sell off many of my father’s possessions. I’ve felt a bit stuck of recent and there are a few dark corners. Today I will contemplate how I can use the dark to show me the light.

Darkness is always there. Light is always there as well. Without the dark we wouldn’t appreciate the light. Appreciate that light I will.

 

8 thoughts on “Don’t let hope become a memory

  1. I think you will be fine, as your ending quote is so right on….I love that saying. And thanks for the tip on the music, I enjoy a nice new find. Safe travels and a Wonderful Holiday weekend if you don’t post till then.

  2. Thanks for sharing the videos. I only watched the first one but thought the art direction and images were stunning.
    I wish you well on your journey. Stay strong!

  3. Love the (first) video, F.B – and have always been fond of the song. A refreshingly different arrangement and visual take on it. (On a minor note, it helps me to wash away the memory of our recent Eurovision Song Contest with Australia’s entry,, a silly, headachey, shouty song using this very same title and incomprehenisbly finishing as runner-up!).
    Hope this will give you inspiration to see you through the coming difficult and profoundly affecting days. Sounds like it’s already working.

    Btw: Good to be able to be back in contact with your blog which, along with some others, was shut out from me until I got this new laptop. Now looking good.

Leave a Reply

