Award Winning Beard!

Thank you Debra!

For She has bestowed the fabulous …

image

to Fearsome!

He is humbled. Have you ever seen a Beard blush? I could feel him blushing today when he got the news.

So we will answer a few questions, some of them dating back to before Fearsome’s emergence.

  1. What does music mean to you?

Music is is one of the gifts of being human. It is art. Audible art. My interpretation of art is expressions that move us. Expression that stirs emotions, calms, enlivens, comforts, disturbs, enlightens, envelopes and frees. Music gives us expansion and enriches the human experience of life. It is communication, but communication at a higher moving level that has the power to reach deep within us and stir us. Music is an art where the talented composer allows the performing artists to add their own brush strokes of understanding to influence his/her work. Gerswin’s “Rhapsody in Blue” moves me, motivates me and gifts me with beauty each time I hear it.

2. What is your first music related memory?

Dad playing Neil Diamond on his stereo. My father was an audiophile who always had the best stereo equipment and speaker systems that he could afford on his middle class income. Neil Diamond was always a favorite of his. He liked to play his stereo loud, rattle the windows loud. I spent many an evening trying to go to sleep after my mother tucking me in with the sound of my fathers music blaring from down the hall. My first memories date back to the late 1960s. While “Sweet Caroline”Β came in at one of billboard’s number five and is Diamond’s most remembered hit from 1969, it’s Diamond’s “Holly Holy”, which made it to number six that year, that is burned into my memory and my musical first. “Holly Holy” is actually a much richer and more intense piece of music than its more popular counterpart from that year.

3. What was the first album you ever purchased yourself?

The first album I ever purchased for myself was Led Zeppelin’s Houses of the Holy. I saved and saved up for that through doing chores for my mom. I had to earn my allowance. Β I thank my parents for that lesson in values. I was eight. Work hard, save, reap benefits. My older brother had that album and I loved it. He wouldn’t let me play his so I had to buy my own. I still have it to this day. It’s in great condition. It’s condition I attribute to my parents for also teaching me to take care of what you work hard for and it will last you a lifetime. It truly has. It is still one of my favorite pieces of music ever produced. The whole album is one piece. Led Zeppelin, in my opinion, were masters of their art and their music is magnificent. This tune, “The Ocean” closes the album with a moving climax and rocking finish…’oh so good!’

4. What is the latest music you purchased?

“Every Day Feels Like Summer With You” from the Shaun the Sheep soundtrack. This tune grabbed me from the first moment I heard it when the movie opened. It’s a feel good tune. I’m a feel good guy. I truly believe that you get what you focus on…. If you focus on the bad shit in your life or in others, you get more bad shit…. On the other hand if you are grateful for what is right and focus on that, you will get more of what is right and is fabulous. Good thoughts create good things so I choose to fill my life with things that make me feel good. Call me Pollyanna cause I’m proud of being one. As soon as I finished watching the movie a few weeks ago I wrote a post about it and bought the tune. I listen to it almost daily.

5. What is the very last song you listened to before writing this post? Be honest!

Blue Oyster Cult’s “I’m Burning for You”. I read these questions just before I left for my evening meeting (some of us sober dudes go to meetings) so when I parked my car I took a picture of my dash to prove what tune I was a rocking to on my drive home….

My dashboard, as you can see Ozzy's Boneyard on Sirius XM was my station tonight as it often is.

My dashboard, as you can see Ozzy’s Boneyard on Sirius XM was my station tonight …as it often is.

…and now for the tune….caution as it’s quite the 1981 throwback…it’s actually good driving music.

Now I get to nominate some bloggers for their own Music and Words Award!

I nominate these fabulous bloggers below and congratulate them on this prestigious award. I can’t wait to see their posts!

Blobby,

Eric,

Mistress Maddie,

Travelpenguin,

Myhusband&I,

Jaywalks,

DavidFinchRNΒ @thereisanotherwaytolive

RobertTheINFP,

Willyorwonthe.

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Award Winning Beard!

  1. Very revealing posting, F.B. (I like these insights into bloggers’ lives and personalities, even though I’m not keen about offering much info on self.) However, as to your posts above, more’s the pity that I’m unable to play your videos, or at least play them with sound. But I get the mood of some from what you’re saying.
    The Gershwin ‘Rhapsody’ is one of those bravura pieces that never palls no matter how many times one hears it. I love it too. Bernstein (whose own recording I must have heard sometime) was an ideal soloist covering, as he did in composition, so many different music styles. Btw: You may know that there is a recording around of the composer himself as soloist, remastered from an original piano roll of his.

    And, yes, Diamond’s ‘Sweet Caroline’ is a classic though for me his immediate prior release, ‘Cracklin’ Rosie’ (his highest chart position attained here) had just the slight edge even over that. But it’s all down to one’s personal taste, isn’t it?

  2. You love me…..you really love me!!! Thanks you for the honor …..you are too sweet. I’ll be away this weekend, but will have something pre posted. I’m looking forward to this. Thank you again dear.πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹πŸ’‹

  3. I knew I could count on you for thoughtful and interesting answers! You have good taste in music and I enjoyed all your videos. Gershwin’s a fave of mine too. Recently, friends of mine went to a Neil Diamond concert — can you believe he’s still going strong? He has legions of faithful fans.

  4. A great selection…. and thank you for tagging me…. it will be a few days before I can post something, between work and a few other things times has been a bit restricted. But it will be done!

Leave a Reply

