Post holiday gratitude

Whew!

The family packed up and left to go home today. It was a whirlwind of a week. I had a wonderful time. Our home was filled with love, laughter, chaos, children and food.

Most of the better half’s family lives in Fresno. Fresno is in central California about a 5-6 hour drive to the north east of here.  A tradition was established a number of years ago that they come for a week of vacation in San Diego. We host the dinner and a few of them stay here in our humble abode. The week is filled with activities in which our home is center stage.

As I write the dishwasher hums in the background competing with the washer and dryer. In a moment I will be making the guest beds. The house is quiet again and the worn out dogs slumber in the family room. The Christmas lights are already hung, giving the frontyard a warm holiday glow. I am full of gratitude. Gratitude for family, health, blessings and love.

Tomorrow life will gey back to normal. For that I am grateful as well.

I did make it to the gym this afternoon and to the barber shop as well. The workout felt good and the hair looks great. Along the way I heard this Eagles tune that reminded me that no matter how hectic the holiday season gets, stop and take a moment for myself to enjoy the life I have been given.

5 thoughts on “Post holiday gratitude

  1. “The Christmas lights are already hung” – 🙂

    it’s been an easy weekend so far; I need to get caught up on laundry; we bought a new dishwasher. we both needed a long break from work. but come miserable monday, it’s “back to life, back to reality”.

  2. I am on the opposite side of that, just returning from a week’s vacation around family in Florida. We did make it more of a vacation this year, stayed in a nice hotel, and left most of the shopping and cooking to others. It was wonderful to see family and friends, it is also nice to be home. Missed one friend who checked herself into rehab last week – I hope she sticks with it and can be there next trip.

  3. Sounds like a great time. I had a holiday away from my biological family but it was filled with members of my chosen family.

Leave a Reply

