My avatar

A long while back I got some criticism about my avatar.

image

The person who was apparently offended by its upside down appearance strongly implied that I was too lazy or too dumb to correct it. They also let me know immediately that they preferred not to converse with others who were so lazy that they wouldn’t correct such errors. I decided it best to not respond to them as I didn’t care to waste my time conversing with someone so judgmental.

A year passed since that encounter.  Today another misunderstanding of a similar but different subject occurred out in blogland. I chose to not respond to that judgmental person either. I did decide it’s time to reflect on such encounters.

First of all I took my avatar as a selfie laying upside down on the couch. I experimented a lot with beard selfies in creating the blog. The photo is actually the way it was taken. I liked it and chose it. Second I do actually know how to right it and did, but still chose the original because I liked it better.

image

The lesson this teaches me is to not judge. Just appreciate. Appreciate that each of us have different taste, perception, priorities, humor, likes/dislikes, self images and such. Differences are to be appreciated, not judged or suppressed.

This is the twist. I have to respect that these two persons I reflect on are different from me. While I chose to not respond to their “suggestions”, I have to be careful to not judge them. I learn to move on and appreciate myself and continue just being me. They have their opinion and that’s ok. It’s their opinion, and I have my own opinion. I own my own expression.

15 thoughts on “My avatar

  1. There are so many ways to be photographed. Your approach explored your creative side. You should be commended for taking the high road.

  2. Not judging the judge is hard! The issue brought me to tears last week.

    There was this amazing meditation published where I work that came out the week of the bombings. It was set in Paris and told the story about a woman who experienced an act of kindness from a Muslim. It concluded with this phrase, “In the end, we are all God’s children.”

    The meditation was submitted over two years ago, chosen and edited for publication over a year ago, and appeared in the devotional guide for which I work the week of the Paris bombings. Amazing.

    Someone (actually several someones) contacted us offended, saying that it is only through Jesus that we are made children of God.

    Fuck that shit.

    I wanted to reply, “I would tell you to go to hell except your fear and hatred have already put you there.” Of course I couldn’t; I’d be fired.

    Through the course of the day I realized that these disgruntled readers are also children of God. They are my neighbors whom I am called to love. Sometimes I fail. But I’ll be damned if I quit trying.

  3. Love your blog, you have become part of my essential daily reading. I had never noticed the picture from an unusual angle.
    I posted on refugees, last week, really brought out the critics and haters. I post what I feel like and refuse to engage or be bothered by the crazies. Life if is too short to engage the crazies.

Leave a Reply

